Subscribe:  iCal  |  Google Calendar
London XE   17, Aug — 20, Aug
Cologne DE   19, Aug — 21, Aug
Cologne DE   22, Aug — 26, Aug
Seattle US   28, Aug — 30, Aug
Atlanta US   30, Aug — 4, Sep
Latest comments
2 hours ago

Nice work and thanks for the breakdown! Always interesting to see someone else's approach to a scene, and the new/different methods they use and/or come up with :)

by Tom DArch
5 hours ago

There are no pdf's of the updated versions available for download!

6 hours ago

3D Stylized Environment looks every time beautiful today this is my subject on that I have to Do My Dissertation and bring some new information with our reader.

7 April, 2016

The AIAS Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS), has opened submissions for two of its annual scholarship programs benefiting students pursuing a dream career in the video games industry.  The Randy Pausch and Mark Beaumont Scholarships are provided to four talented students in game design, production or business who aspire to make a mark on the games industry through their dedication, passion and interest in pushing forward the medium of interactive entertainment.

These scholarships support aspiring game makers in undergraduate or graduate level programs who are planning on pursuing a career in development or leadership.  Included in their scholarship is a chance to participate in a year-long mentorship program that will span touch points at the D.I.C.E. Summit, GDC and E3:

  • The Randy Pausch Scholarship, which awards two $2,500 scholarships, was established in 2008 to honor the memory of Computer Science Professor and Co-Founder of the Entertainment Technology Center at Carnegie Mellon University, Dr. Randy Pausch. The Pausch Scholarships support students pursuing careers in the development of interactive entertainment, including art, animation, programming, engineering, game design, sound design, and music composition.
  • The Mark Beaumont Scholarship, which awards two $2,500 scholarships, was established in 2010 to honor the memory of the previous COO of Capcom North America and Europe, Mark Beaumont. The Beaumont Scholarships support students pursuing careers specializing in the business of interactive entertainment, including management, law, marketing, public relations, and business development.

What started as a simple financial scholarship several years ago has developed into a year-long mentorship program to help navigate students towards a successful career in the video games industry.  The Academy is thankful to all its volunteer mentors, partners and the industry organizations who have helped move this program forward.

Martin Rae, president, Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences

I could not be more proud of the 2015 scholarship winners as we met with them and their mentors at the D.I.C.E. Summit and at GDC. I’ve been amazed over the years at how many times winning scholars told us, ‘I almost didn’t apply because I didn’t think you’d want someone like me.  I hope that every game development student who qualifies takes the chance and applies for the 2016 scholarships, because we’re looking for a diverse mix of people across all disciplines who will help create the great new games of the future.

Don Daglow, president, AIAS Foundation

The Academy scholarships from the 2015-2016 academic year honored students from a range of disciplines, including future designers, artists and programmers. Randy Pausch Scholarship recipients included Sumeet Khobare, pursuing his Master’s degree in Computer Science with an emphasis on Game Development at the University of Southern California (USC), and Ryan Sligh, pursuing his degree in Computer Science at the Southern Methodist University (SMU).  The Academy’s Mark Beaumont Scholarship recipients included Lauren Scanlan, pursuing her MBA in Localization Management at Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey and Debanshu Singh, pursuing his Masters in Computer Science and Game Technology (CSGT) at the University of Pennsylvania. Additional information on last year’s winners can be found here.

To qualify, applicants must have a GPA of at least 3.3, and be a full-time student and attend an accredited college or university in the United States during the 2016-2017 academic school year.

For more information about the scholarships, qualifications and application forms, please visit the official website. The deadline to apply is June 30, 2016.

Source: official press release

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!